total ipl sixes

Introduction to IPL and Sixes

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India, which has become a global phenomenon since its inception in 2008. It showcases some of the best cricketing talent from around the world, with top international players participating in the tournament.

 One of the most exciting aspects of the IPL is the abundance of sixes that are hit by the batsmen. A six in cricket is scored when the ball clears the boundary without touching the ground, resulting in maximum runs for the batting team.

The IPL has witnessed numerous memorable sixes over the years, with players like Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Andre Russell delighting fans with their extraordinary power-hitting abilities. Sixes are not only a display of brute force, but they also require exceptional timing and technique. They add an element of thrill and entertainment to the game, often leaving spectators in awe of the batsman’s skill.

The IPL has revolutionized the concept of hitting sixes, with players constantly pushing the boundaries of what is possible in terms of power-hitting. 

History of Sixes in IPL

Since its inception in 2008, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a platform for some explosive batting displays, with players belting the ball over the boundary ropes with immense power. These massive hits are popularly known as sixes in IPL. Over the years, the tournament has witnessed a significant increase in the number of sixes being hit, showcasing the evolution of the game and the power-hitting abilities of the batsmen. In the earlier editions of the IPL, the number of sixes was relatively lower compared to the later seasons.

However, with the introduction of new and innovative batting techniques and the evolution of the T20 format itself, the batsmen have become more fearless and have developed immense strength in hitting the ball out of the park. With smaller stadiums, flat pitches, and a range of innovative shots like scoops, ramps, and paddle sweeps, the sixes in the IPL have become a common sight.

Number of Sixes Hit in Each IPL Season

The number of sixes hit in each IPL season has shown an upward trend over the years. 

YearSixesMatchesAvg. per matchMost Sixes by Cricketer
20086225910.54Sanath Jayasuriya
2009506598.58Adam Gilchrist
2010585609.75Robin Uthappa
2011639748.64Chris Gayle
2012731769.62Chris Gayle
2013672768.84Chris Gayle
20147146011.9Glenn Maxwell
20156926011.53Chris Gayle
20166386010.63Virat Kohli
20177056011.75Glenn Maxwell
20188726014.53Rishabh Pant
20197846013.07Andre Russell
20207346012.23Ishan Kishan
20216876011.45KL Rahul
202210627314.55Jos Buttler
202311247015.55Faf Du Plessis

Teams with the Most Sixes in IPL History

The most hit sixes in IPL history by a team are registered by the Royal Challengers Bangalore. With big hitters like Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers in their ranks, RCB has hit a staggering 1,330 sixes since the tournament’s inception in 2008. Their aggressive batting approach has led to their domination in this aspect over the years. 

2008Punjab Kings95
2009Deccan Chargers99
2010Chennai Super Kings97
2011Royal Challengers Bangalore94
2012Royal Challengers Bangalore117
2013Mumbai Indians 117
2014Punjab Kings127
2015Mumbai Indians120
2016Royal Challengers Bangalore142
2017Mumbai Indians117
2018Chennai Super Kings145
2019Kolkata Knight Riders143
2020Mumbai Indians137
2021Chennai Super Kings115
2022Rajasthan Royals 108
2023Royal Challengers Bangalore 140

Record for the Most Sixes in a Single Season

This table summarizes the record for the most sixes in a single season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) for the year 2012. It includes details about the season, the cricketer who achieved the record, the team they played for, the number of sixes hit in that particular season, and the number of matches played by the cricketer during that season. In this case, Chris Gayle holds the record with 59 sixes in the 2012 season while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 14 matches.

SeasonCricketerTeamSixes in Single SeasonMatches Played
2012Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore5914

Cricketers with the Most Sixes in IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is known for its supercharged cricketing action, and one of the most thrilling aspects of the tournament is the big hits that light up the stadiums. Over the years, several cricketers have made a name for themselves as the power hitters in IPL, smashing the ball out of the park with immense power and precision. The leaderboard for the most sixes in IPL is dominated by some of the most iconic names in the world of cricket. 

RankCricketerSixes in IPL Career
1Chris Gayle368
2Kieron Pollard293
3AB de Villiers240
4Rohit Sharma230


The Indian Premier League (IPL) has transformed into a global cricket sensation since its launch in 2008. A prominent highlight of this tournament is the remarkable surge in sixes, thanks to players like Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Andre Russell. The IPL’s journey has seen a significant increase in sixes hit, fueled by the fearless approach of modern-day batsmen, smaller grounds, and innovative strokes. Chris Gayle’s 2012 record of 59 sixes in 14 matches remains an iconic feat. This league showcases not just power but also the artistry of big-hitting, making it a thrilling spectacle and the ultimate platform for explosive cricketing action.