Mohammed Shami Bowling

Cricket is a thrilling sport. Be it a T-20 series or a one-day match, if you are a cricket enthusiast, every match is fascinating! The Indian Cricket team has produced great cricket players. In this blog, let us take a look at the fastest bowlers from the Indian team.

Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev Fast Bowling

Kapil Dev, a well-known Cricket player, is among the best bowlers of the team. The great pace bowler, Dev, could bowl at a speed of 140 km/h. He is a right-armed, medium-fast-paced bowler. As far as his journey as a bowler is concerned, he has taken more than 400 wickets (434) having an average of 29.6 wickets in a total of 131 matches. Although Kapil ended his 14-year-long Cricket journey in 1994, he continues to live in the hearts of his fans.

Zaheer Khan

zaheer khan bowling

Zaheer Khan is another name added to the list of India’s fastest bowlers. He is a left-armed, fast-medium-paced bowler. Zaheer Khan has delivered the fastest bowl at the speed of 147 km/h (in ICC Cricket World Cup 2003). His average bowling speed is 145 km/h, making him among the fastest bowlers in Indian cricket history.

Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble Bowling

Kumble joined the Indian cricket team with his debut in a 1990, Test Match. Anil, at the start of his career, was known for being a fast bowler. His average bowling speed is 100 kmph and his fastest recorded bowling speed is 118 kmph. Known for his flipper, leg spin bowling was Kumble’s bowling style.

PlayerAverage Bowling SpeedFastest Bowling SpeedBowling Style
Kapil Dev135 km/h140 km/hRight-arm, fast-medium
Zaheer Khan145 km/h147 km/hLeft-armed, fast-medium
Anil Kumble100 kmph118 kmphFlipper, leg spin
Umran Malik157 km/hRight-armed, fast
Irfan Pathan153.7 km/hLeft-armed, fast-medium
Mohammad Shami140 km/h153.2 km/hRight-arm, medium-fast
Navdeep Saini140 km/h152.85 km/hRight-arm, fast-paced
Javagal Srinath149.6 km/h157 km/hRight-armed, fast-medium
Ishant Sharma150 km/h152 km/hRight-arm, fast-paced
Ashish Nehra149.7 km/h149.7 km/hrLeft-arm, fast
Umesh Yadav140 km/h152.5 km/hRight-arm, fast
Varun Aaron140 km/h153.9 km/hRight-arm, fast
Jasprit Bumrah137 km/h153.26 km/hRight-arm, fast

Umran Malik

Umran Malik Bowling

Umran Malik is a right-armed, fast bowler. He is among the exciting talents produced by the Indian cricket team. His fastest delivery in the International matches reached a speed of 156 kmph (January 2023). While in IPL, Umran delivered his fastest ball at a speed of 157 kmph. The fast bowling of the player is a strategic result of a forward lean with an angular run-up.

Irfan Pathan

Irfan Pathan Bowling

Irfan Pathan, a former Indian cricketer, was a bowling all-rounder of the team. The player is considered to be among the talented swing and seam bowlers emerging from the Indian cricket team. The player delivered his fastest ball at a speed of 153.7 kmph.

Mohammad Shami

Mohammed Shami Bowling

Shami is a right-arm, medium-fast-paced bowler. The excellence of his bowling made him set the record of being the fastest player (in ODI matches) to attain 50 wickets (with 795 balls delivered). His fastest ball was recorded at a speed of 153.2 kmph with an average speed of 140 kmph.

Navdeep Saini

navdeep saining bowling speed

Navdeep, a right-armed fast-paced bowler, is another fastest bowler from the Indian cricket team. With an average of 140 kmph, the player has delivered his fastest ball at a speed of 152.85 kmph.

Javagal Srinath

Javagal Srinath Bowling

The fastest ball Javagal has been recorded at a speed of 157 kmph in the World Cup, 1999, against Pakistan. He is a right-armed, fast-medium-paced bowler. The average bowling speed of this cricket player is 149.6 kmph.

Ishant Sharma

Ishant Sharma Bowling

Ishant Sharma is another name with renowned bowling speed from the Indian Cricket team. He has bowled with a speed faster than 150 kmph on several occasions on the cricket field. His fastest ball was delivered at a speed of 152.2 kph (Boxing Day Test, to Ricky Ponting).

Ashish Nehra

Ashish Nehra Bowling

A left-arm, fast-paced bowler, Ashish is known for his contribution to the Indian Cricket team as a great bowler. With his fastest ball delivered at a speed of 149.7 kmph, he has performed exceptionally well in many cricket matches. His best performance is considered to be the 2003 World Cup, where he took 6 wickets for 23 runs.

Umesh Yadav

umesh yadav bowling

The excellence of bowling is showcased by Umesh at different events in the Cricket matches. He is a right-arm, fast-paced bowler. The fastest recorded bowling speed of Umesh is 152.5 kmph. His balls often cross the speed of 140 kmph, making him one of the fastest bowlers on the Indian cricket team.

Varun Aaron

Varun Aaron Bowling

Varun is a right-armed, fast bowler. With an average of 140 kmph, Varun managed to give his fastest bowl of speed at 153.99 kmph (2010-11 Vijay Hazare).

Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah Bowling

There is no doubt that Bumrah is a good bowler from the Indian cricket team. He is a right-arm, fast bowler. The unique strategy Jasprit focuses on is speed, seam position, and a great rotational spin. His fastest delivery is of speed 153.26 kmph whereas his average speed is 137 kmph.

Similar Posts