The ICC Men’s World Cup has already started and has now reached its final stage. India and Australia will play the final match on 19th November. Multiple teams participated in this World Cup game that started on October 5th and gave their best performance. This time, India entered the finals without losing a match. The only match slated for November 19 will finally reveal who wins the ICC men’s cricket world cup in 2023.

ICC Men’s World Cup is a very old competition. It began in 1975 and many teams have since been crowned champions of this event. In this piece, we would highlight to you each team’s year-wise list of winning the ICC Cricket World Cup.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List

Up to now, there are thirteen matches played as World Cups, and different teams won it. So far, Australia is the most successful cricket team because it has won five World Cups. The final match between India and Australia that was held in 2023 was the ICC world cup of cricket for men. In so doing, Australia took home their sixth world cup championship. The Australia team has become the winner of the 2023 World Cup.

In 2007, Australia won the World Cup three times in a row. Apart from this team, two other teams have also won it twice: India and West Indies. The first time India won the World Cup was in 1983, under Kapil Dev’s captaincy while they did so again in 2011 when Mahendra Singh Dhoni led them to victory. West Indies claimed the title in 1975 and 1979. In 2019 England won the world cup on that particular match.

The list of World Cup winners for ODI Cricket is given below:

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here is a list of (the one day international cricket world cup winners since 1975 to 2023), including runner-ups, host country, total scores, and final result of Men’s One Day International (ODI) Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2023.

ICC cricket world cup winner list
England1975West IndiesAustralia291–8
England1979West IndiesEngland286–9
England1983IndiaWest Indies183
India and Pakistan1987AustraliaEngland253–5
Australia and New Zealand1992PakistanEngland249–6
Pakistan and India1996Sri LankaAustralia245–3
South Africa2003AustraliaIndia359–2
West Indies2007AustraliaSri Lanka281–4
India and Bangladesh2011IndiaSri Lanka277–4
Australia and New Zealand2015AustraliaNew Zealand186–3
England and Wales2019EnglandNew Zealand241

Winner of the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023

On November 19, 2023, the ICC Cricket World Cup will declare its winner when the two best teams of the tournament clash at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India. The first semi-final game was held in Mumbai on November 15, 2023 where India played with New Zealand and won by 70 runs. The second semifinal match occurred on November 16th in Kolkata between Australia who played South Africa and Australia won by three wickets.

Therefore, the final match of ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 will be between India and Australia on 19th November 2023 which Australia won by six wickets.

ODI Cricket World Cup 2023

Cricket World Cup winners

Australia has been the most successful nation in ICC ODI World Cup claiming it five times while finishing as runners-up twice. India and West Indies have each lifted it twice after Australia. The last ICC Men’s cricket World Cup was held in England & Wales during the year 2019 where England clinched their first ever title. Below is a list of countries that have final appeared in ODI Cricket World Cups.

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears Won
Australia7521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
India3211983, 2011
New Zealand202
Sri Lanka3121996
West Indies3211975, 1979

Captain List of World Cup Winners

The table outlines the historical successes of various cricket teams in the ODI Cricket World Cup along with the respective years they secured victories. Australia stands out at the top, boasting an impressive record of five World Cup triumphs in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. England closely follows, clinching their maiden World Cup victory in 2019. India holds a prominent position with two wins in 1983 and 2011, while New Zealand and Pakistan have each claimed the title once. Sri Lanka emerged victorious in 1996, and the West Indies, a dominant force in the tournament’s early years, secured victories in 1975 and 1979. The list also provides details of ODI Cricket World Cup winners based on their respective team captains.

1975West IndiesClive Lloyd
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1992PakistanImran Khan
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2023AustraliaPat Cummins


Who won World Cup 2023 final match?

Australia is win the world cup 2023 final match with 6 wicket and it is Australia 6 time world cup win

How many world cup India won?

India won 2 time 50 over odi world cup won

Similar Posts