New Zealand national cricket team

The New Zealand national cricket team is a group of players who represent New Zealand in cricket games against other countries. They are called the Black Caps and started playing Test matches in 1930. It took them a long time, more than 26 years, to win their first Test match against West Indies in 1956. This victory took place at a place called Eden Park in Auckland.

They started playing a special type of cricket game called One Day International against Pakistan in a city called Christchurch a long time ago. New Zealand is good at playing a different kind of cricket which is called Test match, and they became the first champion of a major tournament of test matches called World Test Championship in the year 2021. They also won another important tournament called the ICC Knockout Trophy in the year 2000.

They have been in the most important game of the World Cup twice and T20 World Cup once. The New Zealand Cricket Board is the 10th richest cricket board in the world, and its net worth is $9 million.

Also read: Australia Men's Cricket Team

New Zealand national cricket team for World Cup 2023

PlayersAgeBattingBowlingLast TestLast ODISri Lanka 2023
Kane Williamson (C)33Sri Lanka 2023Right arm spinLeft-handedBangladesh 2023India 2022
Trent Boult34Right HandedLeft armEngland 2022Afghanistan 2023Pakistan 2022
Mark Chapman29Left handedSlow left armAfghanistan 2023England 2023
Devon Conway32Left HandedRight-handedAfghanistan 2023England 2023
Lockie Ferguson32Right handedRight arm fastAustralia 2019Afghanistan 2023India 2023
Matt Henry31Sri Lanka 2023Right armLeft-handedAfghanistan 2023England 2023
Tom Latham31Right-handedSri Lanka 2023Afghanistan 2023Pakistan 2023
Daryl Mitchell32Left-handedRight armRight-handedAfghanistan 2023England 2023
Jimmy Neesham33Sri Lanka 2023Right armSouth Africa 2017England 2023UAE 2023
Glenn Phillips26Left-handedRight arm off spinAustralia 2020Afghanistan 2023England 2023
Rachin Ravindra23Left-handedLeft arm slowBangladesh 2022Bangladesh 2023England 2023
Mitchell Santner31Right-handedSlow left armEngland 2021Afghanistan 2023England 2023
Ish Sodhi30Right-handedRight arm spinPakistan 2023Bangladesh 2023England 2023
Tim Southee34Right-handedRight armSri Lanka 2023England 2023England 2023
Will Young30Right handedEngland 2023Afghanistan 2023UAE 2023

History of the New Zealand national cricket team

New Zealand national cricket team

Kane Williamson is the Captain of the New Zealand cricket team for the shorter form of the game called T20I. But he is no longer the leader of the team for the longer game called Test, this job has now been given to Tim Southee. New Zealand Cricket is the organization that plans and manages the team.

In January 1998, the New Zealand cricket team received a new nickname, the Blackcaps. This happened because Clear Communications, the company sponsoring the team, had a contest to choose the name. The Blackcaps nickname is similar to the nicknames of other New Zealand national teams, such as the All Blacks.

As of 21 September 2023, New Zealand has played 1472 matches against other countries. Of these, they won 584 games, lost 654, tied 17, and drew 170. 47 games did not yield any results. The team is ranked 5th in Test matches, 6th in One Day Internationals, and 4th in Twenty20 Internationals by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Since 1975, the team has been a part of all 29 ICC men’s tournaments and reached the finals six times. They won two championships, their first coming in October 2000 when they defeated India to lift the Knockout Trophy.

In 2015 they won against South Africa cricket team to reach the final of a major cricket tournament called CWC. The following year, they won against India and made it to the final again. Then, in June 2021, they won again against India and became the first champions of a new tournament called WTC. Just five months later, they won against England and reached the final of another cricket tournament called the T20 World Cup for the first time.

Similar Posts